Janet Pettit Scholar
Share |

The Janet Pettit Scholar in Neonatal and/or Pediatric Vascular Access

The Association for Vascular Access (AVA) will honor and commemorate the life work of Janet Pettit, DNP, NNP-BC, CNS, VA-BC™,  whose contributions to the art and science of neonatal and pediatric vascular access epitomized the mission and values of our organization, through an ongoing award program.

The award recognizes an individual whose personal and professional qualities exemplify scholarly excellence in the field of neonatal and/or pediatric vascular access. They will be named The Janet Pettit Scholar in Neonatal and/or Pediatric Vascular Access.  The award may be given annually to a qualified nominee. Nomination is open to both members and non-members of AVA. Nominations for the 2018 Scholar will open late 2017.

Janet’s background included over 30 years of neonatal intensive care experience as a clinical nurse, manager, outreach educator, clinical nurse specialist and nurse practitioner.  She was employed in a 45-bed neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) at Doctors Medical Center in Modesto, CA, as a neonatal nurse practitioner and clinical nurse specialist.  Her interest in vascular access devices led to multiple publications, clinical research, and national and international speaking engagements. 

Ms. Pettit’s unique expertise made her a sought-after consultant to the vascular access device industry. Through work with multiple NICUs across the United States and Canada, she gathered a vast knowledge of care practices for infants with vascular access devices, particularly peripherally inserted central catheters (PICCs). 

Ms. Pettit was a co-author of the PICC Guidelines produced by the National Association of Neonatal Nurses and served as a reviewer for the Infusion Nurses Society Infusion Nursing Standards of Practice and AVA’s Journal of the Association for Vascular Access.  She also served professional organizations in a variety of roles, including the Board of Directors for the National Association of Neonatal Nurses and the Association for Vascular Access.

Congratulations to our Scholars: