This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Suzanne LaVere Herbst Award

The Suzanne LaVere Herbst Award for Excellence in Vascular Access is the highest honor AVA bestows upon a member in recognition of outstanding contributions to the art and science of vascular access.  To be nominated for this prestigious award the nominee must have a minimum of 10 years vascular access experience and show a strong record of national and/or international contributions. They must also promote professional development of others as evidenced by lecturing, teaching, publishing vascular access-related information, mentoring/precepting, etc.  Please review the nomination guidelines below for other criteria needed to qualify.

2020 Nominations now Closed

Recognize someone you know who contributes to enhancing public and professional awareness of vascular access, and is committed to advancing the specialty.  Review the Nomination Guidelines below and get 2 other people to support your nomination. 

The Award Recipient will receive:

  • Waived registration fee to attend the AVA Annual Scientific Meeting
  • Coach class round trip transportation to attend the AVA Annual Scientific Meeting
  • Two nights of hotel accommodations at the approved meeting hotel
  • Award presentation and lectureship during the Annual Scientific Meeting
  • The award recipient may also be asked to submit a manuscript to the Journal of the Association for Vascular Access (JAVA).

2020 Nomination Information:

Any questions about these guidelines or how to nominate can be sent to Tonya Hutchison (

About Suzanne LaVere Herbst
AVA Founder

If it wasn't for Suzanne LaVere Herbst, RN, MA AVA would not exist. She is the founder and first president of AVA (formerly BAVAN and NAVAN).  A renown lecturer and expert in vascular access, she has over 30 years of experience in infusion therapy including research and development, in the hospital, hospice, and home care arenas.  Suzanne is a charter member of the Oncology Nursing Society and has numerous publications to her credit.  She is also the recipient of the American Biographical Institute Medal of Honor and has been awarded the Most Admired Woman of the Decade Award for her outstanding achievements.  Suzanne is also listed in the Who's Who of American Nursing and the World's Who's Who of Women.

In honor of her dedication and her achievements, AVA annually awards The Suzanne LaVere Herbst Award for Excellence in Vascular Access.   It is the highest recognition AVA offers a member in recognition of his or her contributions that promote optimal outcomes for people requiring vascular access and substantial contributions to the art and science of vascular access.

Congratulations to the Past Herbst Award Winners: